DeliS – Time for some Easter goodies

I love Easter {almost as much as Christmas, but pssst!} That might be due to the fact that spring with all the birds, flowers and sun makes me very happy.

I even tried my hand on some homemade Easter decor. Ever tried colouring eggs with red beet juice? No? Definitely a fun experience and an interesting outcome. πŸ™‚

Unfortunately I was not allowed to spend the holidays with my beloved family because I have to work. Of course Hotel business in Berlin gets crazy during the Easter holidays.

So for a bit of consolation and of course to deliciate my Sunday morning anways, I pulled out this recipe for the traditional German Easter wreath. It is made of a sweet yeast dough and supposed to bring health, luck and vitality.

Here you go:

Ingredients

4 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 package dried yeast (7g)

1 cup milk

2 eggs

1/4 cup butter

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 ts salt

ground lemon zest

1 beaten egg for glacing {optional}

Preparation

Put flour in a large bowl and dig a hole in the middle. Dissolve yeast in luke-warm milk  {at this point I often kill my yeast germs 😦 } and pour it into the middle of the flour. Sprinkle some sugar over it and let sit for about 5-10 minutes.

Add in 2 eggs, butter, rest of sugar, salt and lemon zest and knead thoroughly. Again cover it and let sit at a warm place for at least 30 minutes. I usually preheat the oven at 120 degrees for 5Β  minutes, then turn it off and put in the dough. It should grow quite large.

Divide the dough into three parts and form long rolls. Now braid the three rolls together and form a wreath. It would be best to do this right on the baking sheet so don’t have to bother about moving it. Let sit for a few more minutes. If you want you can now brush it with the beaten egg.

Bake at 340 degrees for 35 to 40 minutes.

It is best enjoyed warm with a bit of butter or Nutella πŸ˜‰ But of course it can be prepared the night before {as I did}. Be sure to eat it quickly because it gets dry after a few days.

I made a smaller one for myself and a large one for my office girls which I filled with homemade chocolate crossies because I find the prices for chocolate eggs ridiculous.

I hope you have a wonderful holiday and Happy Easter! πŸ™‚

from Berlin with Love,

Patricia

2 responses

Leave a comment