Blog (Re-) Launch

Hello everyone and a hearty welcome to my new “virtual home” ~ ‘… from Berlin with Love’

I actually started this blog November 2011 but never quite got around to actually to set up the theme and start posting. This will {hopefully} change now.

A huge goal of mine for 2012 was to blog at least once a week and over the year be able increase to three or four times. Not because I think my thoughts are so special to be shared but simply because I love to write and need to practice my English. And who knows ~ maybe there will be something interesting to read for one or another reader…

Things I’ll be posting about will mostly be things that come to my mind while rushing through the busy students-life but also about cooking, diy, decorating, music and books.

So for a start, I’d like to introduce you to one of my favourite cookie recipes:

Black-and-White Cookies

What you’ll need:

  • 6 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 lb butter (chilled)
  • 2-3 tbsp cocoa powder (or nutella for a super-chocolatey-guilty-feeling-taste)

For the cookies knead together all-purpose flour, sugar and butter until the dough is soft and non-sticky. Divide the dough into half and add 2-3 tablespoons of cocoa to one half, knead again well.

Be creative when creating your cookies. For example I rolled out the dough until about 1 cm thick, then cut into long, thin stripes and form a chess-board pattern. You will end up either with round or square blocks. Wrap them in plastic foil and place in the fridge for at least 45 minutes. Then cut your cookies from the roll. Make sure they are about the same thickness or else some will burn while others are still chewy inside. Place the cookies on a baking sheet and bake them in  pre-heated oven at 360 degrees for about 10 minutes. Take out immediately if the edges start turning dark.

I usually keep half for myself and take the other half to the office or university on Monday mornings. Always starts the week with happy faces 🙂

Leave a Reply

